19. New York Life

by karen orlowski

Ever since I can remember, I have loved this commercial:

It came out when I was about 9 or 10, in the midst the Y2K buzz. I think this commercial is a great example of a timeless message delivered with great camera angles, and a brand making a promise to its consumers. A promise that you can trust New York Life during changing times and beyond. I’m a believer in their marketing. The woman narrator also has a Morgan Freeman-esque voice, and we all know that Morgan Freeman narrating anything is an automatic win.

Some of their newer marketing has taken on different perspectives. They’ve gone with different slogans and different types of images, but I feel the same promise to be apparent in their marketing still. I would love to be a fly on the wall during a brainstorming discussion, in house or elsewhere.

