21. journalism + twitter

by karen orlowski

No longer are the days where news consumption happens once a day early in the morning, before work, over a cup of coffee. Now, there are endless ways to get news throughout the day, and that is exactly what people are doing. Twitter has “become a method for collaboration,” according to a video titled The Impact of Twitter on Journalism found on mediabistro.

At the beginning of Twitter’s introduction period, journalists thought that Twitter may take over their jobs, threatening their current positions synthesizing and curating stories; however, as time went on, Twitter proved itself to be an “ecosystem of news,” or a “helping hand on the road to reporting better news.” It became a way to check different sources and facts simultaneously.

Twitter highlights the fact that United States citizens are interested in celebrity news and comedic reliefs, and this leaves some skeptical that what filters around on Twitter isn’t actually newsworthy content. “There isn’t one way to be a journalist anymore,” points out a source from the video, saying that younger generations are at a better advantage with the changing times because they don’t have anything to unlearn, compared to older journalists.

Honestly, I think it all depends on who you follow on Twitter. I doubt any of the handles advertising to be “True Random Facts” or “Funny Facts” will be true, but I do believe that when I follow Edward Boches, the material he tweets will be true and relevant. One of my favorite ways to consume news about the advertising industry is through Twitter; it’s interactive, smart, and relevant. So, I am on board the Twitter train.

We talk about Twitter in my creative strategist class a lot, and often take a look at the opportunities that Twitter can bring you just from being online. I know a friend that collected sources for his midterm paper only from tweeting out to people and using their responses. I thought that this was smart, but totally unconventional. I am happy creative strat has forced me to find my own edges, instead of being given all of the boundaries for the class on syllabus day. “Yay team.”

 

